Sunday Book Club: What am I reading right now?

Hey there!

It's been a while since I did a Sunday Book Club, below you will find some links to a number of previous Book Club Posts for you to read:

Currently I have been working my way through my "To Read" list and have found myself torn between two books at once.

The first book is The Colour of Law by Mark Gimenez, a book I mentioned all the way back in April .

The blurb tells us:

A. Scott Fenney is a Dallas corporate lawyer in the prime of his life. Raking in $750,000 a year, with a beautiful wife and an adored daughter, life could not be better. But when a rich senator's son dies in 'mysterious circumstances', Fenney is asked by the federal judge to put his air-conditioned lifestyle on hold to defend the accused: a black heroin-addicted prostitute.

Scott believes in justice – but is his belief strong enough to withstand the loss of everything he holds dear – his salary, his lifestyle, his wife, his child?

I've been reading this book, slowly, but I've been reading it nonetheless and my original thoughts have proved to be correct. I am on chapter 6 and I find The Colour of Law to be a slow burner but it is building towards an intense plot. The story begins to look at prejudice in law both in and outside the courts. I am still none the wiser as to how this will pan out but I look forward to reading The Colour of Law to see whether Scott Fenney will handle the case himself or continue to farm the case out to another lawyer.

The second book that I am reading is by an author I have mentioned before – Shaun Hume. Shaun Hume is an Australian born author of three novels, including the one I am about to review. He self-published through his own indie company called "Popcorn and Rice Publishing" in 2013. I have had the pleasure of reading one of his books before and I am thankful that Mr Hume has sent me some more do his work to read. Tightrope Walker is an fantasy ebook aimed at a YA or younger audience.

The synopsis is short and simple –

I have only began to read this and do not have much to comment at the moment. I am interested in how this story will develop and whether it bears similarities to Hume's prior novel Ewan Pendle and The White Wraith.

The next time I write about either book will be when I have a finished and complete review for you all.

Thank you for reading and that's all for this Sunday.

Stay Blessed,

Love Emily


Lifestyle Blog | Instagram: emmcunningham | Twitter | Facebook | Snapchat : emm_cxnningham


Leave a Reply

